Tonight’s lineups

Reds (31-24):

1.    Orlando Cabrera – SS

2.    Brandon Phillips – 2B

3.    Joey Votto – 1B

4.    Scott Rolen – 3B

5.    Jonny Gomes – LF

6.    Jay Bruce – RF

7.    Drew Stubbs – CF

8.    Ramon Hernandez – C

9.    Mike Leake – SP (4-0, 2.45 ERA)

* Mike Leake, tonight’s starting pitcher, was the first pitcher from the June 2009 draft to make his Major League debut. At 4-0, he is the first pitcher in Reds history to remain undefeated through his first ten Major League starts, although it should be noted that four other active pitchers accomplished the feat, included Livan Hernandez.

 Nationals (27-29):

1.      Cristian Guzman – 2B

2.      Niger Morgan – CF

3.      Ryan Zimmerman – 3B

4.      Adam Dunn – 1B

5.      Josh Willingham – LF

6.      Roger Bernadina – RF

7.      Ian Desmond – SS

8.      Wil Nieves – C

9.      Luis Atilano – SP (5-1, 4.70 ERA)

* Including last night’s 4-2 win over Cincinnati, 23 of the Nationals’ last 30 games have been decided by two runs or less. Washington has played an MLB-leading 34 games decided by two runs or less.

* By pocketing the win last night, Tyler Clippard matched the Nationals (2005-present) single-season mark for relief wins with eight. Amazingly, it has taken Clippard only 28 appearances to equal the relief-win totals accomplished by Luis Ayala (68 appearances) in 2005 and Jon Rauch (88) appearances in 2007.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 627 other followers

%d bloggers like this: