Marquis makes his first start with the Nats and lineups

Jason Marquis Opening Day.JPGIt is both game two of the series and season tonight. Last year, the second game at Nationals Park (April 15 vs. the Phillies) was postponed due to thunderstorms. There won’t be any postponements or problems with the weather today. It is another b-e-a-utiful day in the Nation’s Capital–it might even be a little too warm for April 7. The temperature is in the mid-80’s with scattered clouds and plenty of sun as the players start to warm-up.

Jason Marquis takes the mound for the first time as a member of the Washington Nationals. He made his first start of the 2009 season against the Phillies and will once again try to shut down their formidable lineup. He earned the victory last season, pitching 7.0 innings and surrendering just two runs on five hits. Marquis has traditionally performed well in his first start of the season. He is 3-1 with a 3.88 ERA (46.1 IP/ 20 ER) in eight first starts of the season since 2002. Since 2005, he is 2-0 with a 3.03 ERA (29.1 IP/ 10 ER).

The veteran pitcher said he doesn’t plan on doing anything special against the Phillies. He is just going to be Jason Marquis–a sinker ball specialist that lets his defense make plays. He is just going to stick to his game plan, pound the bottom of the strike zone and induce ground ball outs.

Phillies (1-0):

1.      Jimmy Rollins – SS

2.      Placido Polanco – 3B

3.      Chase Utley – 2B

4.      Ryan Howard – 1B

5.      Jayson Werth – RF

6.      Raul Ibanez – LF

7.      Shane Victorino – CF

8.      Carlos Ruis – C

9.      Cole Hamels – SP

*Jimmy Rollins is batting .118 (4-for-34) with five strikeouts against Marquis.

* Hamels is 5-1 with a 1.47 ERA (67.1 IP/ 11 ER) and a .200 (49-for-244) BAA over his last 10 starts against the Nationals (dates to 2007 season). He enters today with a 14.1-inning scoreless streak at Nationals Park

Nationals (0-1):

1.      Nyjer Morgan – CF

2.      Ian Desmond – SS

3.      Ryan Zimmerman – 3B

4.      Adam Dunn – 1B

5.      Josh Willingham – LF

6.      Ivan Rodriguez – C

7.      Mike Morse – RF

8.      Adam Kennedy – 2B

9.      Jason Marquis- SP

*Marquis is the only player in MLB whose club has reached the postseason each of the last 10 seasons.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: